Buenos Aires Half Marathon

Written by Jacqueline Newell

You’re Invited…

What: Maraton 21 K Arnet Buenos Aires 2015

Where: Av. Pres. Figueroa Alcorta 7000, Palermo, Ciudad de Buenos Aires

When: September 6, 2015, 07:00 AM

Who: 25,000 of my closest friends, all clad in spadex

photo 5

With matching shirts, bags filled with sneakers and gels, and boarding passes in hand, 53 members of Alto Running Club descended upon Buenos Aires to take part in the biggest half marathon in South America. On Friday morning, I gathered with several team mates in the Mendoza airport and began what would become a weekend filled with lots of coffee, picture taking and sneakers.

Charmaine and I picking up my kit

Charmaine and I picking up my kit

Upon arrival, I took a cab to the apartment of my friends Charmaine and Marine in Palermo/Recoleta. We crossed town to pick up my race kit and get my tshirt personalized before grabbing lunch and heading to Charmaine and Amanda’s English club at a school near her apartment. I helped the girls, along with Amanda’s mom, lead the class with some great students. It was great to see how other Fulbrighters are conducting their classes in a different city!

photo 5 (2)

On Saturday morning, we had a mini Fulbright reunion with everyone who happened to be in BA for the weekend: Amanda (and her mom), Charmaine, Matt (Fulbright’s chamyuro master), Brianna, Sam, Adam (and his three friends from the USA) and me. We had brunch before going our separate ways for siestas.

All my friends!

All my friends!

In preparation for the race the next morning, all 53 members of Alto gathered for a giant pasta dinner. It is just one of the many reasons why I love this running group! After a 5AM wake up alarm, it was time to get going. We shared a tent at the start line with a running group from Baires where we could dump our bags before getting lost in the crowds. There was a colored bracelet system to find your starting carrel but that was thrown out the window.

fb 5

We ran through Palermo, past the Obelisk, cutting back to the Plaza de Mayo and the Pink House, before running back to the finish line by way of the highway. The course was almost completely flat which was a really nice change from hilly Mendoza. Because of that, I was able to cut about 10 minutes off of my last half marathon time.

Once the race was over, I made the trek back to Charmaine’s apartment and navigated the Baires subte system. Adam was in Puerto Madero with his friends from the USA and invited me to come hang out at the pool. I discovered the power of blonde in Baires when the ticket man let me ride the subte for free… too bad I was waiting for the subte going in the wrong direction. We hung out at the Hilton Hotel for the afternoon before I went back and absolutely crashed.

Having too much fun

Having too much fun

There is really no going back after this.

There is really no going back after this.

Pre- Baires dinner

Pre- Baires dinner

Marcelo & I on our empty flight to Baires

Marcelo & I on our empty flight to Baires

fotorun 3

Ready to race!

Ready to race!

53 Altos en BA

53 Altos en BA

Flor!

Flor!

fb 4 fb 3 fb 2 fb 1

Race Kit

Race Kit

Customized t-shirt!

Customized t-shirt!

Expo races

Expo races – Sorry Char…

IMG_8447

Blondies

IMG_8441

Leave a Reply

