Power of One

Written by Jacqueline Newell

What would you do if you had worked an 8 hour day, had a 5:45 am wake up call for the following morning and absolutely no plans in sight? Stay in, read a book, watch Netflix, go to bed early? In the past, this may have been my response but recently, I have reached a point in my life where I am utilizing my power of one. I’m one woman with one night, how am I going to fill it?

10502176_10152566366910719_1132310527651180505_n

Last Friday, I went into Portland, ME to grab some dinner and my craving for Granny’s Burritos guided me into one of the best nights I have had in a while. I went to the Portland Public Market and on my way out, I happened to see a poster for the Allagash Brewery’s tasting party happening at the Victoria Mansion. I had seen an ad for it on Mainetoday.com and thought, what the heck, I’m going to go. I walked across town to the Victoria Mansion, a pre-Civil War landmark in Portland, and it turns out they had one ticket left. So, for $35 I went to the Allagash tasting party on the lawn of a mansion. Not too shabby, right?

IMG_7946

When I got there, I knew no one and I was surprisngly okay with that. I got a Victoria Ale, the beer that supports the Victoria Mansion (I think close to 75% of proceeds for this particular brew goes to the Victoria Mansion). When I was taking a lap around the yard, I happened upon two old friends from my middle school/early high school years who recognized me. I ended up spending the rest of the event with PD and Amy and their friends who then invited me out for late night sushi and a going away party for someone I have never met.

IMG_7952

Needless to say, the power of one is actually the opposite of what it sounds like. It is the ability to make decisions without consulting someone else and becoming part of a larger community. The Allagash party had twenty-somethings, Allagash employees, Victoria Mansion supporters and volunteers and then there was me. I didn’t know anyone and I ended up making new friends, seeing some old friends, and being served blueberry mead by the mother of one of my childhood friends. My goal this summer is to really take advantage of flying solo and so far it has really been a great experience. I have gone surfing, made friends while biking around an island, and gone to parties with strangers. Cheers to the summer!

Credit: Mainetoday.com

Credit: Mainetoday.com

Leave a Reply

