Running & Tweeting

Written by Jacqueline Newell

Family run!

Family run!

Pre Race Potty Set Up

Pre Race Potty Set Up

Someone once told me that you should “always read something that will make you look good if you die in the middle of it.” (P.J. O’Rourke). Well, sometimes I follow that rule and other times I don’t even come close. For example, I once read Brandi Glanville’s Drinking & Tweeting, a Bravo network soap opera squeezed into a collection of short stories. It was terrible. But I have taken one thing from her – actively tweeting while doing something else.

Such a true statement

I heard it so many times!

108For those of you who follow @Jaxnew on Twitter, you might notice that many of my tweets relate to things I am doing in that very moment, including running. When running, I have so many thoughts pop into my head that the only way to collect them all is to write them down and the fastest way is via Twitter. [Plus, it’s a great way to communicate with my brother who is a connoisseur of Twitter and all things techy/social media.]

13.1

13.1

4am wake up and 5am volunteer start time

4am wake up and 5am volunteer start time

My mom volunteered! She's so cute!

My mom volunteered! She’s so cute!

I found this article on Buzzfeed about a woman who Instagrammed a hot guy at every mile while running a marathon. I thought about doing the same thing during the Country Music Half Marathon but, around mile 1, I realized I was surrounded by women, so that wouldn’t work. Instead, I decided to tweet while I was running. 13.1 miles without stopping, just live tweeting, getting a tour of Nashville and laughing all the while.

Best poster I've ever seen

Best poster I’ve ever seen

11 9 7 4

One thought on “Running & Tweeting

  1. Pingback: Woman on the Run | Fitting inside the Box | Jacqueline Newell

Leave a Reply

