Snow Covered Fields Forever

Written by Jacqueline Newell

Kalamazoo, Michigan. The epicenter of an endless winter. I’m currently wrapping up my seventh visit to Western Michigan University and with the torrential downpours that have lasted several days now and the projected snow at night, I believe I have found the endless winter.

Have you ever heard of the movie, The Endless Summer? The one about surfers chasing summer on their world wide quest for the perfect wave? Well, I feel like if anyone were ever to take on the challenge of chasing winter in the hunt for the perfect snow to make a snowman, Kalamazoo would be the ideal spot. Disney’s Frozen may tell you that the ideal spot for a snowman is Norway but I’m going to have to disagree with the Imagineers on this one – it is definitely Kalamazoo, Michigan.

Kalamazoo Arboretum

Kalamazoo Arboretum: March 17

The photo above was taken two weeks ago, during my sixth visit to WMU’s campus. Snow, snow everywhere and plenty of flakes to spare. As I went for runs, I started changing the words of songs to fit my environment. For example – The Beatles’ “Strawberry Fields Forever” became “Snow Covered Fields Forever.”  In the two weeks that have passed, almost all of that snow has melted, leaving behind the sad remains of snow piles of Kalamazoo’s six months of winter. But, there is a 50% chance of snow tonight so who knows, maybe we really are in an endless winter.

Leave a Reply

