Spice Up Your Life

Written by Jacqueline Newell

Have you ever found yourself surrounded by 18,000 of your best friends (95% of them being female) all singing the best of the Spice Girls? Probably not but, I have! When I was a junior in high school, my brother and sister-in-law bought me the most amazing Christmas present ever – tickets to a Spice Girls reunion concert.

The experience was one that will never be forgotten – my mother, my sister-in-law and I blended in with a crowd of women of all ages who were jamming hard. And then there was my brother, Patrick, jamming out just as hard and one of about 100 men in all of Madison Square Garden.

I even bought an overpriced concert t-shirt (okay, my mom probably bought it for me) that was black and had all of the Spice Girls’ names in a different neon color. I proudly wore it through high school and even rocked it during Old Navy’s spirit week when we were all asked to wear band t-shirts. There was obviously no competition.

Now, whenever I am having a bad day, my mom always tells me to “Spice Up Your Life!” Better advice has never been given. Now, as I am sitting in rainy Kalamazoo, Michigan, I invite you all to spice up your lives with this Spice Girls tribute by Yanis Marshall, the best man dancing in heels that ever lived.

 

Leave a Reply

