I’m Not Bossy, I’m The Boss

Written by Jacqueline Newell

 “I’m not a business man, I’m a business, man.”

I first heard this line from a Jay Z rap when I was in high school and it is something that has resonated with me for probably about eight years (woof – eight years?!). This bold statement shows a man’s confidence in one simple statement – I run the show, it’s my show. Now, think about it if a woman were to say this same line but with “woman” instead of “man.” Firstly, it would probably sound a little silly to address someone as “woman.” Secondly, the mental image that most would have would probably be of a steely woman in a power suit and not all together approachable. In a word, you would probably call her bossy.

Sheryl Sandberg, author of Lean In: Women, Work and the Will to Lead, has become famous as an author and for her speeches about women in the workplace and their place in society. Recently, Sandberg began a campaign called “Ban Bossy,” a campaign that aims to educate the world about the impact of the word “bossy.” In our society, young girls are afraid to speak up, take the lead and get things done, for fear of being called “bossy.”

Sandberg has partnered with the Girl Scouts of the USA (Girl Scouts for life, what whaaat) and several other organizations to bring “Ban Bossy” to the world. Take a look at the video below and check out banbossy.com to find out what you can do to help the ban against “bossy.” As you watch the video, notice that the final words in the video below come from Jay Z’s wife, Beyonce herself.

“I’m not bossy, I’m the boss”

Leave a Reply

