Springing For Colorado

Bye Bye Boots

Bye Bye Boots

Written by Jacqueline Newell

As I sat in the Nashville airport two weeks ago, I had to make a very tough decision: whether or not to keep traveling with my busted up riding boots. My $20 boots made it through 6 months of travel but, as I sat on the floor in terminal C, I decided it was time to say good bye. I got many weird looks from strangers as I took of my boots and put them right into the trash.

Something is missing...

Something is missing…

I arrived in Denver and had myself a bit of an adventure trying to find my hotel. I stayed at a one star hotel in Centennial, right outside of Denver. As I unpacked a few things and settled in for the night, I realized that room didn’t have a deadlock on it and when I told the woman at the officer, she was also very shocked to see there wasn’t a deadbolt. Rather than sending me to a different room or getting a lock, they assigned someone to guard me room. Needless to say, I didn’t sleep well that night.

Becky & me

Becky & me

Olympic Training Center

Olympic Training Center

My first full day in Colorado I met up with Becky, a Sigma Kappa national volunteer who lives in the Denver area. Becky had read my Sigma Kappa blog post about loving the Olympics so she decided we should head to Colorado Springs first and check out the Olympic training center. We took a tour (with possibly the least enthusiastic tour guide… ever) and had a chance to check out the volleyball try outs that were taking place for the national team.

Yummy!

Yummy!

Countdown to Rio

Countdown to Rio

While we were taking our tour, we were told that Michael Phelps was on the campus. Unfortunately, we never found him. Our visit took place the same day as the closing ceremonies of the Olympics and it was cool to see the giant clock they have outside that count downs to the next Olympic games. From there, we went out to eat and, because of our proximity to New Mexico, we decided on Mexican food.

Easter Bunnies

Easter Bunnies

I hope I get the house I want!

I hope I get the house I want!

We explored a pretty funky costume shop after lunch and tried on a bunch of different hats and wigs. It was funny and a little creepy to see a bunch of giant Easter bunny costumes all lined up and ready to be used next month.

We took a drive through the Air Force Academy and saw their beautiful campus. We were able to explore all 4 sectors within the awesome chapel too – there was a Buddhist and a Jewish space for worship in the basement that were very cool!

The Air Force Academy

The Air Force Academy

Air Force Chapel

Air Force Chapel

Air Force Chapel

Air Force Chapel

Air Force Chapel

Air Force Chapel

Air Force Chapel

Air Force Chapel

One thought on “Springing For Colorado

  1. Pingback: Mines, Minds and Mimes | Fitting inside the Box | Jacqueline Newell

Leave a Reply

