T-Minus 50 Days: What is a Leadership Consultant?

Written by Jacqueline Newell

The other day I realized how much my consultant team loves countdowns, including myself. In 7 days, I get to see my mother. In 57 days, I am running my first half marathon. And in 50 days, I end my experience as a Sigma Kappa Leadership Consultant.

I have spent the last nine months working for my national organization and two days ago, I received an e-mail with the names of the 2014-2015 LC team. That e-mail made me realize that my time is quickly coming to an end.

In the past nine months, I have struggled to define what it is that I do to those who do not have first hand experience with leadership consultants. Women in sororities often say “from the outside looking in, you can never understand it. From the inside looking out, you can never explain it.” Well, I feel like that is pretty true for the role of a leadership consultant. Trying to come up with an elevator pitch is one of the hardest things I have tackled while on the road. Here are a few of the things I have been able to come up with:

I am a time traveler: Every five days I travel to a new chapter, playing hopscotch across time zones and between different states.

I am a teacher, a coach, an advisor and a guide: I lead programs about recruitment, stress management and sisterhood. I adhere to national policy and help collegians do the same.

I am an event planner & marketer: Although I am working with Sigma Kappa sisters, I sell the sorority experience every day.  I support officers in their event planning and help them set and accomplish goals.

I am a secretary: I record and synthesize all that officers tell me so that I can share it with other chapters along my travels. I create bonds between chapters that they may not even know exist.

I am a mascot: I am a face that collegians associate with the national organization. I may be the only member of national staff that collegians ever meet. I’m the interface between national headquarters, university administrators, national volunteers and advisors, and collegians.

I am Man vs. Food: I’ve tackled everything from Nepalese cuisine to gator tacos and everything in between. I make a point of finding every hole in the wall restaurant in every city.

With 50 days left, what else can I become?

Leave a Reply

