Pencil Me In

Written by Jacqueline Newell

Calvin Klein

Calvin Klein

After meetings with fraternity/sorority advisors, chapter advisors and day to date business wear, I have found a new love in a staple item: the pencil skirt.

Burlington Coat Factory

Burlington Coat Factory

Last semester I only traveled with one but this semester I have upped my pencil game. [That makes me sound like a 3rd grader who just got a sweet new set of Lisa Frank pencils – if only.] My go to for the last two semesters has been a beige Calvin Klein basic, it wrinkles easier than paper but it is one of my favorite things to travel with.

Goodwill find

Goodwill find

I have also been traveling with two others – a black skirt and a red skirt. The black one is part of a two piece suit from Burlington Coat Factory, nothing too exciting. The red is also from a two piece suit that I found at Goodwill. I was able to haggle for just the quilted skirt, ripped seams and all.

Pencil Problems

Pencil Problems

I wore the red skirt out to dinner one night with several other consultants and had the lovely experience of having that ripped seam continue about 10 inches higher.

Ahhh, the shambly life of living out of a box.

Leave a Reply

