Solo Sight Seeing

Written by Jacqueline Newell

Chi City

Chi City

My new best friend Sue

My new best friend Sue

Man Eating Lions

Man Eating Lions

On Saturday, Riti and I had planned on going to see Chicago but after a morning visit to the doctor, it turns out Riti had mono and I was on my own. I took a taxi to the Field Museum and had one of my first experiences exploring a city on my own. For a weekend it was pretty empty. I took the free hour and a half tour of the museum and met everyone from Sue the t-rex, the man eating lions and an exposed mummy – pretty creepy.

Field Museum

Field Museum

My new friend!

My new friend!

I bought a ticket specifically for the 1983 Worlds Fair exhibit which was really cool! There were many examples of “new technology” and “anthropology” (not quite so civilized and well educated as today’s anthropologists). It was fun to be in the museum without knowing anyone and having the chance to go at my own pace and see everything or nothing at all. Other people in Chicago were so nice and offered to take my picture all the time!

Jellies

Jellies

Shedd Aquarium

Shedd Aquarium

I walked next door to the Shedd Aquarium and bought myself a student’s day pass. Thank goodness I kept my student ID! Although I didn’t buy a ticket to see the jellyfish exhibit, a nice women let me sneak in through a back door and see all of the cool creatures. I did, however, get kind of sad as I was walking through the whale and dolphin exhibits after having seen the documentary Blackfish (it’s on Netflix).

Winter Wonderland

Winter Wonderland

Millennium Park

Millennium Park

I walked about a mile through the snow storm to Millennium Park so that I could see the Gateway statue, otherwise known as “the Bean.” Again strangers offered to take my picture. I was going to go ice skating at the pond by the Bean but my phone died and I was alone and the sun was setting. I took the metro back to Riti’s apartment, grabbed some frozen yogurt with Riti and promptly fell asleep. Around 8pm.

Leave a Reply

