Karaoke Konfusion

My route

My route

A real polar express

A real polar express

Written by Jacqueline Newell

On February 6th I boarded the Amtrak from Kalamazoo, Michigan and took a very snowy ride to Chicago. Kalamazoo had gotten about a foot of snow the night before causing the trains to be running about an hour late.  Even the space between cars was completely covered in snow and ice. The attendants were very helpful and shoveled off the steps at every stop. The train was completely full that morning and I even saw another student from Susquehanna – what are the odds?

Our new friends!

Our new friends!

Did I mention it was freezing?

Did I mention it was freezing?

I’ve been told several times that people in Chicago will start up a conversation with anyone and are some of the nicest people out there. That became very evident as I rode the 2 hour train and stood utterly clueless in the train station. After gathering a map and directions, I walked several blocks to a subway station and humored the security guard as I tried to go through a turn style with my suitcase, duffle and other bags.

Unsure of the lyrics

Unsure of the lyrics

Singing up a storm

Singing up a storm

After giving her a good laugh, I rode to train to my friend Riti’s school. I experienced my first real Chicago deep dish pizza from Lou Malnati’s. Riti and I met up with her boyfriend and I had my first karaoke experience ever. We filled up the sign up sheet completely and ended the night with Elton John’s “Tiny Dancer” and befriending 3 60 year old women who thought we sounded great.

Leave a Reply

