How Do You Measure a Year in Hair?

July 2012

July 2012

August 2012

August 2012

Written by Jacqueline Newell

The last 19 months have allowed me many opportunities to do something that most women are afraid to do: cut their hair. For some reason, one of the most common insecurities in women is a fear of having just anyone cut their hair and cutting their hair at all. Admittedly, I used to be someone who would freak out if anything more than an inch was cut off of my hair. I’ve taken Biotin to grow my hair longer, used shampoos that say they help hair grow and tried many other tricks in the book.

March 2013

March 2013

February 2013

February 2013

In the summer of 2012, I made my first hairy decision. I allowed an apprentice at a local salon help me make my first Locks of Love style donation. 10 inches were donated and thus was the beginning of my bobbing and weaving through different hair styles. I even let a random hair salon in Selinsgrove, Pa. give me a trim. Very brave move.

August 2013

August 2013

June 2013

June 2013

In January, I made a decision that but me on the fringe. I randomly called a hair salon I had never heard of and let them cut off all my hair. Later in March, I asked a college student to cut my hair in the middle of my sorority house. June 2013 came my minor obsession with Miley Cyrus and my mimic of her haircut.

January 2014

January 2014

December 2013

December 2013

 I have gone from being afraid of cutting off one inch to a buzz cut. Now 8 months have passed and I have finally gone from pixie cut to a bob. Collegians no longer can recognize me when I arrive because I no longer look like my picture on the Sigma Kappa website. It has taken several long months of awkward mini ponytails, headbands and hats to hid my awkward shag and mullets but the day has finally come, ladies and gentlemen (but mostly ladies). I can now find a small joy in life from having a legitimate mini ponytail. Hooray!

February 2014, 1920s inspired bob

February 2014, 1920s inspired bob

Leave a Reply

