Bowling in Bowling Green

Written by Jacqueline Newell

My first visit back to the chapter at Western Kentucky University included what we thought were ghosts that turned out to be a man living in a secret apartment, runs up very large hills, my first experience in a Lilly store and some middle of the day bowling.

Getting nails did

Getting nails did

Daily motivation

Daily motivation

Bowling Green, Kentucky is one of my favorite places to come because it is one of the few places in my travels where I can set up a routine and get some more motivation. I found this binder in the president’s car and I feel like it defines a leadership consultant’s demeanor. It is also a place where I have gotten more manicures in the past 7 months than I have in my entire life.

Special Olympics motto

Special Olympics motto

Bowling!

Bowling!

I was able to make a new friend during my last visit in Katie, a young woman with autism. I was invited to go play basketball with Mallory, the chapter president, and Katie early in the week and I was inspired by the Special Olympics mottoLet me win. But if I cannot, let me be brave in my attempt. Later in the week, the three of us went bowling where we were the only people there who were not getting a senior citizen discount. And it was fantastic.

Leave a Reply

