On the Road Again

Written by Jacqueline Newell

Taryn's luggage vs. my luggage

Taryn’s luggage vs. my luggage

All these bags were left in Indy's baggage claim

All these bags were left in Indy’s baggage claim

As you might imagine, I have been back on the LC grind for a little over a month now. On January 6, all of the LCs were due back in Indianapolis for mid-year training but, alas, only one LC arrived. We all felt the repercussions of the Midwest’s polar vortex. Autumn was stuck in Florida for a few extra days (poor Autumn, right?) while I was wearing three pairs of socks in rainy Maine.

My Christmas gift to the LC team - M&Ms with my face

My Christmas gift to the LC team

The majority of us finally arrived by Wednesday afternoon, only to pack our bags and head out to our first schools on Thursday. We did get to have a few hours all together at NHQ were I presented the group with my Groupon Christmas present – M&Ms with my face on them – enjoy. Fortunately, or unfortunately, depending on how you look at it, several of us had cancelled flights and got to pile into one suite at the hotel room all together. I had a chance to see what others travel with and my little blue box barely looked suitable compared to some other luggage.

Meet the 20 ft. Santa Claus in downtown Kalamazoo

Meet the 20 ft. Santa Claus in downtown Kalamazoo

Meet Ryan, Alpha Sigma Phi

Meet Ryan, Alpha Sigma Phi

When I finally arrived at my first visit, I was trapped inside of the Gamma Beta house as a result to snow every day of my visit. Thus began my official introduction to a Midwest winter. I did get to escape one night and actually see more of Kalamazoo than just the Western Michigan campus. I met Ryan, another consultant who was visiting campus, and we found ourselves caught in the middle of a live band (while we had been placed in the first row) and a bar crawl that had it’s very own beer (a man dressed as bear with deer antlers, beer + dear = beer).

Leave a Reply

