Walk Two Miles in My Shoes

Payless witch toes

Payless witch toes

Written by Jacqueline Newell

Now I realize that the more common phrase is “walk a mile in my shoes” but lately I seem to be hitting the two mile mark on foot pretty frequently. I’ve even had the opportunity to [vaguely] understand what older people in movies mean when they say they used to walk to school, in the snow, uphill both ways, barefoot.  I once walked from a meeting with a fraternity/sorority advisor back to the chapter house while wearing heels, in the raise, and up and down hills.

Old Navy

Old Navy

One of the most important things in a leadership consultant’s suitcase is her shoes. After long days of recruitment and cross-country commutes, shoe selection is an important decision. This semester I have limited myself to just the basic necessities of footwear: one pair of flats, one pair of boots and one pair of heels. I learned my lesson last semester and packed a pair of house slippers, too.

As I’m spending this week in Philadelphia with the women of UPenn, the mileage on both my running shoes and my day to day footwear is being upped to the max. Roaming the city in between recruitment rounds is definitely a test of, what I believe to be, my smart shoes!

Leave a Reply

