Show Some Ankle

Written by Jacqueline Newell

Last summer when I was preparing to go to LC training, I revamped a lot of my wardrobe and I was introduced to the phenomenon that is: ankle pants. Although the days of capri pants are not over, ankle pants have become a common denominator in many wardrobes.

J. Crew

J. Crew

I braved this new world with a pair from Gap (orange and patterned) and J. Crew (sea foam and eyelet). Although Indiana in the summer is humid and not pants appropriate – Sigma Kappa NHQ had us all bundled in blankets during training. As a result, pants became a necessity. J. Crew’s heavier material kept me warm at NHQ but, unfortunately, they were a bit too bulky to fit into my small suitcase for the semester.

Old Navy

Old Navy

JC Penney

JC Penney

For my second semester as a leadership consultant, I will be heading to many cold places and pants have become prominent in my suitcase – Indiana, Michigan, Ohio, Colorado and Illinois! Ankle pants and snow don’t sound like the best combination but I am planning on finding that out on my own.

Old Navy

Old Navy

While working at Old Navy over our winter break, I had a chance to scope out a lot of their new styles (those 5am shipment shifts always give you a first look!). I bought a pair in red and a pair in black. Both have very versatile and great for traveling! They have had to prove their worth because during my first week on the road, I’ve already had three canceled flights and many unexpected changes.

Leave a Reply

