Running to the North

Brrr!

Brrr!

Written by Jacqueline Newell

Since getting home two weeks ago, I have had to start dragging myself out of bed to run even earlier than I did when I was on the road and in much colder temperatures. My dad is a member of “The Other Running Group” or TORG, a running group in our town, and I like to get up and run with them in the morning but these driven and committed individuals meet at 5 a.m.!

Green Belt Trail

Green Belt Trail

On the days when I’m not getting up at 4:30 a.m. to run the dark streets, I have been sleeping like a normal human being and running during the day. I even discovered the Green Belt trails that loop through my town. Unfortunately, I originally decided to run through the woods because the map made it seem like it would swing by my house and it doesn’t. What was intended to be a 4 mile run turned into 6 mile run while I tried to find my way home.

Trail Running

Trail Running

Track Laps

Track Laps

I’ve also gotten to experience the monotony that is running on a track. I’m not sure how distance runners on track teams do it because there was nothing more mind numbing than running in a circle for a half hour. But, since it was snowing, the track was the safest option in my town that doesn’t have sidewalks.

Leave a Reply

