Across the River

Thank a Veteran

Thank a Veteran

Veterans Day Ceremony

Veterans Day Ceremony

Written by Jacqueline Newell

My last visit of the semester took place with the women of Zeta Alpha at Indiana University Southeast. The first day of my visit took place on Veterans Day and the president of the local PIKE chapter invited me to a ceremony at the 11th hour to hear a bell be rung 11 times by various veterans. I later attended a luncheon with the veterans and families of those serving, it was great!

IMG_4657

Blind Date with a Book

Blind Date with a Book

I had a few more opportunities to participate in campus activities during the week. For example, I went on a “blind date with a book.” The $1 books were on sale in the book store, wrapped up in brown paper with a few key words written on the paper to hint at the contents. I also attended Coffee with a Cop to learn more about the campus and grab some free coffee and baked goods made by the cops, themselves!

IUS

IUS

Hump Day!

Hump Day!

On Wednesday, I stumbled upon a (close to) 7 ft. high wooden camel completely covered in glitter. Talk about a craft! I guess that’s how IUS does hump day! The chapter has an office inside of the campus center because it is, mostly, a commuter campus. I got to stay with the president’s parents which was such a treat to spend time with a family! They even laid out breakfast for me each morning.

Mechanical Art outside C21

Mechanical Art outside C21

Derby Pie

Derby Pie

On my last day, I spent some time in Louisville with the chapter president and her little. I even had the chance to try out a Derby Pie a la mode – it was awesome! We also went to C21, a hotel that has a free art museum in the basement.

Leave a Reply

