The Early Bird

Frost!

Frost!

WKU seniors and me

WKU seniors and me

Written by Jacqueline Newell

With two visits left of the semester, I was happy to have one last visit with my base chapter. Having never been to Kentucky, I was genuinely surprised to experience chilly air while I was there. I guess I just figured everything south of the Mason Dixon is always sunny and always warm. Boy did I find out the hard way that I was wrong! Each morning that I went for a run at Western Kentucky University, I was greeted by the enormous hill outside the chapter house and a layer of frost on the ground.

The lake house

The lake house

It's that season

It’s that season

We stayed in Bowling Green until Friday because Grace and I took a road trip to Louisville. I had never been there before but I ended up spending more time there than I anticipated! We stayed with Grace’s parents Friday night and attended a Founder’s Day celebration hosted by the U of L chapter. Afterwards, we all drove to Grace’s lake house for a sisterhood retreat. Because Grace and I don’t have the best luck when driving, we actually ended up in Indiana while trying to get out of the city… twice.

Camping!

Camping!

The whole chapter arrived and we managed to fit close to 90 women inside of the three bedroom house. I think it was a good lesson for packing light for the women! There were bonding activities, contests and endless food. I even broke out my Girl Scouting skills and made a fire so that we could make s’mores! Most of the women stayed inside but a handful decided to sleep outside. Those brave souls.

Leave a Reply

