Remember the Alamo

Written by Jacqueline Newell

Hi friends! I am sorry I have been really lagging on my blogs recently!

The roadrunner

The roadrunner

Penny pressing

Penny pressing

My trip to the University of Texas, San Antonio began with a bumping start. I arrived at the airport just in time to realize I had missed my flight. I accidentally looked at the arrival time, not the departure time of my flight from PA to TX. Unfortunately, all of the flights for the day were pretty booked and they weren’t until the late afternoon. I waited about 8 hours in the Philly airport before I was able to get on a flight to Denver and then down to San Antonio. I arrived 12 hours late and my luggage didn’t arrive on time, either.  The bright side: southwest didn’t charge me extra for the new flights. The irony: I had just told another LC the night before that I wanted to get to Colorado some day.

Homecoming theme

Homecoming theme

Roadrunners Live talent show

Roadrunners Live talent show

I arrived at UTSA during their homecoming week and got to experience Road Runners Live, a variety show that many fraternities and sororities participated in! Their theme for the week was super heroes so every window on campus was painted with different super hero images. The school is super into their homecoming events, which is awesome! They even had a golf cart decorating contest.

Daily run

Just in case!

My daily run

My daily run

During my visit I had the opportunity to stay in an apartment with several chapter women because they do not have a house. The women live in a community of student housing right next to a 6 mile trail that I had the pleasure of running on each day.  One day they told me that coyotes frequent the path I have been using. Awesome.

Alamo entrance

Alamo entrance

The Alamo

The Alamo

I spent my last day exploring downtown San Antonio and boy did the afternoon wipe me out! The chapter president and I drove down to the Alamo and explored the grounds around the building. We later walked to the River Walk and had lunch with a friendly crew of ducks and a million other tourists, like myself.

Ice cream pit stop

Ice cream pit stop

The river walk

The river walk

After having lunch, we decided to shell out some cash and be as touristy as possible. We took a river boat tour of the San Antonio river. Our captain pointed out all sorts of facts about landmarks along the river banks and the history of the river itself.

Tervis stores exist!

Tervis stores exist!

Alamo side building

Alamo side building

Leave a Reply

