City of Sisterly Love

Me and my boy Ben

Me and my boy Ben

Spreading the love!

Spreading the love!

Written by Jacqueline Newell

I got an early morning bus from Portland down to Boston and a flight from Boston down to Philadelphia – my first jetBlue flight in a long time. I took a taxi from the airport to the University of Pennsylvania where the president met me at the Sigma Kappa house. After climbing to the fourth floor of the chapter house with my luggage, I was given a tour of campus.

Kappa Iota chapter

Kappa Iota chapter

The Broken Button

The Broken Button

Penn’s campus is really cool in that it is grassy and beautiful while situated in the middle of a city. The main focus of my visit was to learn about the university’s plans for recruitment this coming January. U Penn does recruitment the same way that Susquehanna does (it is called deferred recruitment).

Magic Carpet

Magic Carpet

The Quad

The Quad

I had the opportunity to eat at all sorts of local places in Philly, including some of the food trucks! Magic Carpet is a classic on U Penn’s campus. I walked by the cart one day and saw the line about a block long! I took my lunch to the Wynn Commons and the Quad on campus.

Tea cap advice

Tea cap advice

Leave a Reply

