Music City, USA

Getting touristy

Getting touristy

Nashville Sigma Kappas

Nashville Sigma Kappas

Written by Jacqueline Newell

During the last weekend of September, I had the opportunity to spend a little time in Nashville, Tennessee. After having so many flights scheduled to go in and out of Nashville, I hoped to actually see the city – so I did! I drove from Kentucky down to Nashville where I stayed with Erica, an advisor for the chapter at Western Kentucky University, and her family that consists of many young children. Having the opportunity to be in a family setting was such a nice change!

New friends and old friends

New friends and old friends

Hanging in a Honky Tonk

Hanging in a Honky Tonk

I went out to dinner with Erica and Brenna, a Sigma Kappa from Ohio who also graduated in May. The three of us went to Soulshine for dinner – it was a great experience to go to dinner with someone I work with and someone she works with and be able to have an instant connection because we are all Sigma Kappas. It’s such a funny thing but it has supplied me with great connections! Brenna took me to some great locations in Nashville such as Losers, Winners, Tin Roof, South, Paradise Park and, the coolest, Honky Tonk, a three floor bar filled with different music on each floor. It turns out two of my friends from Susquehanna were actually at Honky Tonk the same night I was but we missed each other. I did have a chance to see Alex, a Sigma Kappa from Susquehanna who moved to Nashville last year.

Lego cat lady?

Lego cat lady?

Lego Land!

Lego Land!

I spent Sunday with Erica and her family which was a great experience. Erica and I brought her two youngest sons shopping with us and treated them to a trip to the Lego store. While there, we bought the boys each one Lego that came in a surprise set, so neither knew which they were getting. Inside the package was a list of potential Legos that the boys could have gotten – among those included a type of Lego I’ve never seen – a cat lady Lego.

Business district

Business district

The Aquarium

The Aquarium

For dinner, we went to The Aquarium, a restaurant that is the sea version of the Rain Forest Cafe. The boys loved it and so did we! When we got home, I observed the “peg” system that Erica uses with her sons. Her home is a well oiled machine and the boys have all of their responsibilities down to a science!

Leave a Reply

