Pearls Just Wanna Have Fun

IMG_2946

Written by Jacqueline Newell

Recruitment at Theta Upsilon, the Sigma Kappa chapter located at Bowling Green State University in Bowling

My first half marathon!

My first half marathon!

Green, Ohio took place from September 6-15th. The chapter participated in a recruitment that spanned over two consecutive weekends, a model which I had never seen before and took me quite a while to grasp. This visit took place just after my one month mark and I realized I had been away from home for quite some time. I found the quote to the left on the outside of one collegians door and it really hit home for me because it seemed like something my mother would say to me. To continue my theme of all things impossible, I decided to sign up for my first half marathon. It doesn’t take place until next semester but I wanted to choose a really good one!

It's official... sort of.

It’s official… sort of.

The first weekend of recruitment began on September 6th in the Bowen-Thompson

Recruitment Round 1

Recruitment Round 1

student center. There were close to 350 potential new sorority women signed up and waiting to go through recruitment. The women were all given t-shirts that said “There’s no place like Sigma Kappa…” Each organization was given a similar shirt but with their respective organization written on it.

The second and third round were moved to the chapter’s house where they hosted a sisterhood event (Pearls Just Wanna Have Fun) and a philanthropy event (Sail Away with Sigma K). One of my favorite aspects of the their recruitment was during their

Mason jars used to hold donations for Sigma Kappa philanthropies

Mason jars used to hold donations for Sigma Kappa philanthropies

philanthropy round when the chapter women helped the women going through

Theta Upsilon alumnae recruitment team

Theta Upsilon alumnae recruitment team

recruitment to fold dollar bills into the shape of a heart. The women then were given the chance to choose which of the five Sigma Kappa philanthropies they would like to donate their dollar to. The chapter was extremely lucky to have a great group of alumnae helping them including their advisory board chairman, VPNME advisor, VPM advisor, recent graduates, graduate students and women looking to become more involved in the chapter.

I was lucky enough to have some play time during my stay in Ohio because the

BGSU Ice Rink

BGSU Ice Rink

recruitment rounds only took place on weekend nights. I discovered their ice rink, paid $6 to rent a pair of skates and hit the ice with a couple of figure skaters. I haven’t had the opportunity to ice skate in about a year and a half and nothing has been more soothing to me that an hour of ice time. Alone.

Zach took me out to dinner!

Zach took me out to dinner!

Lastly, I had the chance to reunite with a friend that I met during my time study abroad in Spain. Zach lives about 20 minutes away from the university so we went out for dinner and ice cream (obviously) and caught up on what had happened since we left Spain almost two years ago.

Leave a Reply

