Bowling Green State University

BGSU Curling Club

BGSU Curling Club

BGSU Falcon

BGSU Falcon

Written by Jacqueline Newell

Typically, while visiting a school, I will start to go on a run around the campus and that run quickly turns into an exploratory walk. While exploring the BGSU campus, i decided to go into their ice arena and I think I found nirvana. They were playing “Spice Up Your Life” by the Spice Girls in the lobby of the rink and there were posters about the curling program at the university. Other things I found during my runs included the Stroh Center, the building that houses the basketball courts and a school spirit store. Outside of the building is a giant sculpture of a falcon atop a structure.

LC dangle

LC dangle

My package arrived!

My package arrived!

One of the most exciting things that happened upon my arrival at BGSU was that I received a package! I had ordered a pair of boots for myself along with some other items. But what was more exciting was getting a card from my mom. She always manages to know exactly what I need and somehow she manages to sense it days before it happens because her cards arrive perfectly on time. It must be ESP. I also received a dangle from Sigma Kappa that recognizes my year as a leadership consultant!

The women practiced their recruitment skills by doing a mock recruitment with Gamma

The chapter women always called me Miss Jackie

The chapter women always called me Miss Jackie

Recruitment practice with Gamma Phi Beta

Recruitment practice with Gamma Phi Beta

Phi Beta. The first night of recruitment was planned to be in the student union so the women practiced exactly how the recruitment round would happen. On the left is a picture of all the women from both chapters after they’re hard work.

Leave a Reply

