The Charmed Life

Written by Jacqueline Newell

In addition to my charmed arms, I have been lucky enough to expand my collection of necklaces over the last few months. Working from the road has made my online shopping habits more keen and significantly more addicting.

I bought this necklace off of eBay back in July. The company shipped it from China and even mistakenly sent me a double – woohoo!

eBay

eBay

I bought this flower necklace from Francesca’s in the mall. Unfortunately, within fourteen days of owning it, the clasp broke and one of the flower petals broke off – not really the highest caliber of jewelry.

Francesca's

Francesca’s

A woman once described this necklace as “almost Mexican, mixed with the Italian flag and a little bit like a watermelon.” I’m not really sure how to respond to that one but I think I can roll with it. I got this necklace off of eBay, too.

eBay

eBay

I actually couldn’t tell you where I got this necklace but I bought it when I was in 8th grade. I may have gotten it at a craft fair. The red paint on the beads has ruined many white shirts over the years but I still wear it all the time!

Middle school

Middle school

In addition to my many eBay investments, this necklace was another spur of the moment buy. It is kind of massive and that is what makes it awesome. The company in China also sent me a double of this one, too.

eBay

eBay

I found this cuff necklace in the clearance section of Claire’s – holla! I don’t have much that I can wear this with but I’m always trying!

Claire's

Claire’s

This owl clock necklace was given to me by one of my aunt’s for Christmas last year. It’s pretty quirky and, unlike most of my time pieces, it actually gives me the correct time!

Claire's

Claire’s

Andrea bought me this necklace from Charming Charlie’s over the summer. When I went back to that shop over Labor Day weekend, I saw that it comes in many more colors, too.

Charming Charlie's

Charming Charlie’s

While I was in the UT – Knoxville bookstore, I found that the bottom floor has a small boutique (how cool, right?). There was all sorts of jewelry and dresses down there, including this tree branch inspired necklace with matching earrings.

University of Tennessee bookstore

University of Tennessee bookstore

After seeing one of the other Sigma Kappa leadership consultants wearing a similar necklace in all white, I went on a hunt to find the perfect one. Many shops are making this style of necklace right now but I love this colorful one from Francesca’s.

Francesca's

Francesca’s

I wear this necklace almost every week. I bought it at Dwellings, a small boutique in Lewisburg, PA. Something about it sometimes reminds me of a caveman but that is what makes it awesome.

Dwellings

Dwellings

Yet another necklace that I don’t remember buying, unfortunately.

Who knows!

Who knows!

I bought this necklace at Claire’s when I was in middle school. I put it away for several years but now that statement necklaces are making a comeback, I have pulled it out of retirement.

Middle school

Middle school

I bought this at Charmed, a jewelry shop in downtown Asheville, North Carolina. Something about it reminds me of the Wizard of Oz and the Emerald City.

Charmed

Charmed

Leave a Reply

