DuPont State Forest

They lost their shoes

They lost their shoes

Written by Jacqueline Newell

During breakfast at Tupelo Honey, I overheard a woman talking to her grandson about wanting to go swimmingIMG_2855 and  I suddenly had a craving. Andrea and I were inspired to go on a hike to a waterfall so that we could get outside! We drove about an hour to DuPont State Forest, one of the many locations where the Hunger Games was filmed!

We drove to Hooker falls but decided to hike away from all of the other people in the park. We hiked past Triple Falls, an area where Hunger Game scenes were filmed, and continued on to High Falls. After hanging out at the

High falls

High falls

top where there was a look out, we decided to go down to the bottom and play in the falls! Unfortunately, the falls decided to take one of my shoes while I was in the water. On the bright side, the river Gods traded my shoe for an apple that floated down stream.

The top of Triple Falls

The top of Triple Falls

This one sign says “What you take from here is mapless.” I saw it in downtown Asheville and I thought it described our day at DuPont State Park perfectly. I had so much fun with my sister just

enjoying the day and spending time with Andrea.

Asheville optimism

Asheville optimism

Leave a Reply

