Thumbin’ My Way into North Carolina

Two best friends that anyone could have

Two best friends that anyone could have

Written by Jacqueline Newell

I was fortunate enough to spend all of Labor Day weekend in Asheville, North Carolina with my sister. I have been lucky enough to see her four times this year, that’s more than I saw her during my four years in college. We made sure to get as much fresh, Appalachian air as possible during my visit. My very first day in Asheville was spent indulging in brunch and exploring the sights of Asheville.

Over Easy

Over Easy

Andrea and I went to Over Easy, a breakfast restaurant where I had the happy experience of having a complete  stranger ask me if I had enough carbs on my plate. Apparently my dish of french toast with a side of biscuit offended the stranger who was checking out my breakfast.

Comedy bus tour

Comedy bus tour

We spent the evening on the LaZoom bus tours. Our guide was such a hoot and her interactions with the locals who we passed made it even more enjoyable. The bus drove us around downtown Asheville and had the opportunity to see the old sanitarium, the oldest art deco building in the city, government buildings, the hospital where F. Scott Fitzgerald’s wife stayed and the art district of Asheville. IMG_2837The co-host of the tour drove around on his scooter and would meet us at different sections in various costumes. My favorite was a floating fortune teller.

Tupelo Honey's extra large pancake

Tupelo Honey’s extra large pancake

We went to Tupelo Honey on Sunday morning. I was so excited to hear that Tupelo is actually from Asheville – I loved it so much when I was in Knoxville, I made sure to go for a second visit. Last time I saw someone order a massive pancake so I decided to take advantage of the opportunity and get one, too! That thing was definitely bigger than my face.

Native Restaurant

Native Restaurant

We spent a lot of time roaming around downtown and exploring different shops within the city. It was nice to explore a different city and not have a time line and not have responsibilities! I had the opportunity to even visit where Andrea works. We went to Native, a restaurant/bar, where we we had burgers and got to meet a lot of her co-workers.

My left overs

My left overs

Having a pit stop with a family member was very helpful in terms of my box – I was able to drop off some things that I realized I wasn’t wearing or I had been given along the way. As much as I love all of the tshirts I have been given at recruitment, there just isn’t room for them in my suitcase! Now that I have some space in my suitcase, it’s no longer necessary that I sit on it for it to close!

Leave a Reply

