The Suitcase Fashion Challenge: Purple Reign

Written by Jacqueline Newell

My third week on the road consisted of a lot of clothing items that are old, new, borrowed and even blue  purple. This past week was my first time spending time with a chapter while they completed a full recruitment. The result of recruit is often coordinated coordinated outfits and showing a lot of Sigma Kappa spirit and that is exactly what happened last week!

August 19th

August 19th

On Monday I had a meeting with the Director of Student Life so badge wear was necessary. I found this dress in a consignment shop outside of Philly with my grandmother last year. It’s made by Dress Barn. I got the necklace off of eBay, shoes from Payless, and headband from Claire’s (shameless). 

August 20th

August 20th

I knew that one of the chapters I just visited was started recruitment soon so I decided to rep their recruitment letters! Alpha Delta gave me a pair of their oversized chevron letters and I paired them with my Old Navy white shorts, black belt, Target sandals and Claire’s headband.

August 21st

August 21st

Wednesday was the first day recruitment! All of the chapters wore a shirt given to them by Panhellenic in the color of their respective chapters. The Epsilon Zeta women wore their purple shirts with dark wash jeans, black sandals and pearls. I wore barrettes with pearl flowers on them from Charming Charlie’s.

August 22nd

August 22nd

For the “Getting to Know You” round of Western Kentucky’s recruitment, the ladies wore purple plaid button downs with “Sigma Kappa” embroidered on the chest pocket, brown belts with khaki shorts and brown belts. Seeing as I don’t have brown belts in my suitcase, white worked just as well. I wore stacked pearl bracelets from Dwellings, pearl studs and a pearl headband given to me by one of the women in the chapter.

August 23rd

August 23rd

Today’s theme was Tiffany & Co. so all of the women wore black and white dresses. Unfortunately, I have a black dress and a white dress, nothing in between. I wore a white lace Jennifer Lopez dress from Kohl’s with a black ribbon and nude Payless shoes.

August 24th

August 24th

Preference  was on Saturday and all of the women wore different purple dresses. Erica, the advisor, brought the purple dress on the left for me with a gold and pearl necklace. But, after some wardrobe malfunctions, Mallory and I ended up switching outfits. I wore her ruffled dress. Erica gave me the white and gold bracelet and I wore the pearl headband again.

August 25th

August 25th

On bid day, the only dress requirements were the blue Southern Cotton “frocket” tshirts, brown belts, and a pair of shorts that were used for recruitment. I wore mine with my white Old Navy shorts and a pair of cowboy boots that a chapter member let me borrow.

The back of the bid day t-shirts!

The back of the bid day t-shirts!

August 26th

August 26th

For my last day in Western Kentucky, I wore my blue dress with red/orange sea horses from Target and my white Target sandals.

 

One thought on “The Suitcase Fashion Challenge: Purple Reign

Leave a Reply

