The Suitcase Fashion Challenge

Written by Jacqueline Newell

As you may have guessed, living out of a suitcase can quickly cause some limitations in terms of fashion. But I’ve decided to accept that challenge. For the next four months, I plan to take a picture of my outfit every day in an attempt to avoid outfit repetition. Unfortunately, I didn’t take an inventory of all of the clothing in my suitcase before I left but here goes nothing!

WEEK ONE

Monday, August 5th

Monday, August 5th

Day One: My first day on the road was a long travel day consisting of a bus ride, two quick flights, and a long car ride to the University of Florida. My broken-in khakis from Gap and linen top from Old Navy helped me stay comfortable from Maine to Jacksonville.

Tuesday, August 6th

Tuesday, August 6th

Day Two: On my second day, I had my first meeting with a fraternity/sorority advisor. I wore my coral suit and black Calvin Klein top from Burlington Coat Factory with a Diana Droplet necklace from Dwellings, a boutique in Lewisburg, Pa.

Wednesday, August 7th

Wednesday, August 7th

Day Three: I was representing Old Navy on Wednesday! I spent the day running errands and working with the women of Beta Tau in a cotton dress and scarf.

Thursday, August 8th

Thursday, August 8th

Day Four: Another day was spent on the floor of the sorority house crafting, leading workshops and meeting chapter members. With Old Navy shorts, my Goodwill belt, boyfriend Tshirt from Target, I was cool and comfortable. My cuff watch is from Kohl’s and a necklace from Charming Charlie’s.

Friday, August 9th

Friday, August 9th

Day Five: This outfit is an example of one of my biggest rookie mistakes. I drove from Gainesville to Jacksonville and flew to Charlotte and Knoxville. I wore a Calvin Klein pencil skirt from Burlington Coat Factory, a chambray shirt and gray scarf from Old Navy. The outfit was totally comfortable but the Payless patent leather heels were my biggest mistake. Traveling in heels while carrying a duffle bag was probably my worst decision!

Saturday, August 10th

Saturday, August 10th

Day Six: Today was one of my most relaxed meeting days. As I reviewed the recruitment plans for Alpha Delta, I stayed comfortable in a pair of Lauren Conrad jean shorts and a Calvin Klein ruffled top.

Sunday, August 11th

Sunday, August 11th

Day Seven: Today was the first day I met with the whole chapter at Alpha Delta – the temperature sky rocketed once 125 women filed into the dining room. Today was another Old Navy day with short, t-shirt and scarf all from Old Navy.

Monday, August 12th

Monday, August 12th

Day Eight: Today was another fraternity/sorority advisor meeting day and my first time wearing my first real suit. My Charter Club slacks, Calvin Klein top and eBay statement necklace helped me keep calm while meeting with the University of Tennessee staff.

One thought on “The Suitcase Fashion Challenge

Leave a Reply

