Sigma Kappa: Beta Tau – The University of Florida

Written by Jacqueline Newell

Saying goodbye to UF!

Welcome to the University of Florida!

From August 5 – 9, 2013 I had the opportunity to travel to the University of Florida for my first assignment as a Sigma Kappa leadership consultant. I packed up my blue suit case, my duffle and my purse, jumped on a bus from Portland, Maine to Boston. I took a plane from Boston to D.C. and D.C. to Jacksonville and was met in the airport by Beta Tau’s president and vice president of membership. We drove for an hour and a half across the state of Florida before arriving in Gainesville.

The Beta Tau house.

The Beta Tau house.

I moved into the Sigma Kappa house and we hit the ground running. On Tuesday morning, I woke early to prepare for my meeting with the fraternity/sorority advisor (otherwise known as the F/SA). I was pretty nervous so I wandered around the house, trying my best to learn more about the Beta Tau chapter. In my explorations, I found the sign below on the wall in the kitchen. My favorite line is the last one because my stomach has been known to howl from time to time.

The house rules of Beta Tau.

The house rules of Beta Tau.

I spent most of my time helping the president and vice president of membership  prepare for their pre recruitment week. I had a chance to meet many of the officers of the chapter and the women in charge of each round. It was great to hear how another school does recruitment, especially a bigger one with more members, bigger decorations and a bigger house! I met some officers via Skype and sat in on workshops that I worked with the officers to design – they did a great job executing them!

Tory, the VPM, leading a workshop about recruitment fears with some of Beta Taus newest recruiters.

Tory, the VPM, leading a workshop about recruitment fears with some of Beta Taus newest recruiters.

On my way out of town, I made a few pit stops around campus with Annabelle to take some pictures with some of the big iconic places on campus. I even found a name called Newell!

Meet Albert and Alberta.

Meet Albert and Alberta.

Just chillin' with my new pet - he followed me home, mom!

Just chillin’ with my new pet – he followed me home, mom!

There is a Newell building and a road at UF!

There is a Newell building and a road at UF!

Leave a Reply

