Sigma Kappa: Beta Tau – Food Edition

Written by Jacqueline Newell

At advanced training for the LC team, I used to catch Jaynie taking pictures of her food and sharing them with her boyfriend, who would send snack pics back to her. Originally, I started taking pictures of my food as a game and I would send them to Jaynie to show her what life is like on my section of the LC map. But I quickly enjoyed keeping track of what I was eating, hence this division of the blog. Below is a picture of Jaynie and I – by George, it must be love!

I <3 Jaynie.

I ❤ Jaynie.

While I was in Gainesville, Florida, I tried to eat a wide variety of foods. On my second night, I went to dinner with Joey, the Advisory Board Chairman, and Annabelle, Beta Tau’s president. We went to a local restaurant called Vello’s. Below are two photos from the meal, our appetizer and our dessert!

Fried avocado and shrimp tacos.

Fried avocado and shrimp tacos.

Cheesecake with banana, wrapped in a tortilla, fried and covered in chocolate and caramel.

Cheesecake with banana, wrapped in a tortilla, fried and covered in chocolate and caramel.

The next day, while I was working with Tory, we went to a place called Larry’s Subs, a sandwich shop with an emphasis on New York decorations and Italians. Although I didn’t snag a picture of my sandwich, I did get a photo of this wild King Kong altar in the middle of the seating.

Larry's subs has a giant gorilla inside!

Larry’s subs has a giant gorilla inside!

Later that night, I had my first sorority house meal experience. It was great to see over 120 sorority women lining up to meet the new house cook, Miss Ellen, while singing the Sigma Kappa grace. I, admittedly, do not know the Sigma Kappa grace but I am sure that it will be something I can quickly pick up at the different houses I am visiting.

My first dinner at the Beta Tau house.

My first dinner at the Beta Tau house.

Among the many snack breaks I had, this one was one of my favorites! I found out that Panera serves breakfast. This cinnamon toast crunch bagel gave me the best of all worlds: cereal, bagels, cream cheese, and Panera!

Cinnamon toast crunch bagel from Panera - yummy!

Cinnamon toast crunch bagel from Panera – yummy!

The ladies of Beta Tau know how much I love ice cream so while I was in my room working on some homework, they brought me an icy treat to end my night on a high note!

Annabelle brought me an ice cream sandwich!

Ice cream sandwich, woohoo!

Lastly, someone brought up a restaurant called The Swamp that is located across the street from the football stadium, also called the Swamp. I asked if I could go and it was such a great decision! I ordered alligator tacos with a side of sweet potato fries – I think I am getting used to these southern customs!

Gettin' me some gator tacos!

Gettin’ me some gator tacos!

Leave a Reply

